Last updated: July 18. 2013 3:54PM - 103 Views
Jarrid Deaton

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:
PRESTONSBURG Two of the returning members of the Floyd County Board of Education were sworn in for their new terms at the boards monthly meeting held at Prestonsburg High School on Monday.
Circuit Judge Johnny Ray Harris swore in District 1 member Linda Gearheart and District 2 member Dr. Chandra Varia.
Gearheart is a retired principal from Allen Elementary School. She was re-elected to the board with no opposition on Nov. 2. Gearheart is the vice chair of the board of education.
Dr. Varia, a physician from Martin, was also re-elected with no opposition on Nov. 2. She has been a member of the Floyd County Board of Education since 2001.
We are honored by the continuing commitment shown by Mrs. Gearheart and Dr. Varia, said Supt. Henry Webb. Their leadership, along with our other members, will help create a system of excellence for the students of Floyd County.
The other members that make up the Floyd County Board of Education are Jeff Stumbo, chair, District 3, Rhonda Meade, District 4 and Sherry Robinson, District 5, who was elected to fill the seat vacated by former member Doug Hopkins.
For more information, including how to contact members of the Floyd County Board of Education, visit floyd.kyschools.us.
All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Prestonsburg Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com