Allen Central, Betsy Layne, Prestonsburg would be in same district

Last updated: April 17. 2014 9:43AM - 383 Views
By - slemaster@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

LEXINGTON - During its meeting on Tuesday, the Kentucky High School Athletic Association (KHSAA) Board of Control approved a draft of the football alignment for the 2015-18 seasons, which was configured after member schools were given the opportunity to declare their desire to “play up” in classification. The draft alignment will be presented to the membership and feedback will be sought through a survey, which will then be presented to the Board of Control during its next scheduled meeting on May 12. Schools are not permitted to sign game contracts for the 2015-18 seasons until the football alignment is finalized, which is expected to take place during the May meeting.

With the proposed alignment, three of Floyd County’s four high school football teams would compete in the same district - Class 2A, District 8.

“We picked up East Ridge and Allen Central in our district, so we now have six teams which only leaves you with five dates to fill which makes scheduling easier,” Prestonsburg Coach John DeRossett commented. “We are still in a tough region with LCA, Danville, Somerset and Middlesboro. It would appear to me that classes 2A and 3A will be really tough when you look at the schools in those classes.

“We would like to get South Floyd on the schedule then all Floyd County schools would be playing each other and we could form a county conference and promote football within our county. If we could play them we could then create a traveling sports trophy that would have all sports included in which all the county schools compete. Conferences such as the SEC and Big 10 have the overall sports champions for the year and I feel this would increase the interest in participation and competition in our county sports programs.”

The proposed football alignment follows.

Draft 2015-2018 KHSAA Football Alignment of Teams

Proposed Class 1A

District 1 – Crittenden County, Fulton City, Fulton County, Russellville

District 2 – Berea, Bethlehem, Campbellsville, Caverna, Fort Knox

District 3 – Eminence, Frankfort, Holy Cross (Louisville), Kentucky Country Day

District 4 – Beechwood, Bellevue, Dayton, Ludlow

District 5 – Bishop Brossart, Bracken County, Nicholas County, Paris

District 6 – Fairview, Paintsville, Raceland

District 7 – Harlan, Lynn Camp, Pineville, Williamsburg

District 8 – Hazard, Jenkins, Phelps, Pikeville, South Floyd

5th place team from District 8 as the 4th place in District 6 for playoff brackets

5th place team from District 2 will not advance to playoffs

Proposed Class 2A

District 1 – Ballard Memorial, Mayfield, Murray, Webster County

District 2 – Butler County, Hancock County, McLean County, Owensboro Catholic, Todd County Central

District 3 – Clinton County, Glasgow, Green County, Metcalfe County, Monroe County

District 4 – Christian Academy-Louisville, DeSales, Shawnee, Washington County

District 5 – Carroll County, Gallatin County, Owen County, Trimble County, Walton-Verona

District 6 – Bath County, Holy Cross (Covington), Lloyd Memorial, Newport, Newport Central Catholic, West Carter

District 7 – Danville, Lexington Christian, Middlesboro, Somerset

District 8 – Allen Central, Betsy Layne, East Ridge, Leslie County, Prestonsburg, Shelby Valley

Proposed Class 3A

District 1 – Caldwell County, Fort Campbell, Paducah Tilghman, Trigg County, Union County

District 2 – Adair County, Edmonson County, Elizabethtown, Hart County, LaRue County

District 3 – Bardstown, Central, Moore, Thomas Nelson, Waggener

District 4 – Boyle County, Garrard County, Henry County, Lexington Catholic, Western Hills

District 5 – Fleming County, Lewis County, Pendleton County, Russell

District 6 – Belfry, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Pike County Central, Sheldon Clark

District 7 – Breathitt County, Estill County, Knott County Central, Morgan County, Powell County

District 8 – Bell County, Casey County, Corbin, Jackson County, McCreary Central

Proposed Class 4A

District 1 –Calloway County, Hopkins County Central, Hopkinsville, Logan County, Madisonville-North Hopkins

District 2 – Allen County-Scottsville, Franklin-Simpson, South Warren, Warren Central, Warren East

District 3 – Breckinridge County, John Hardin, Valley, Western

District 4 – Collins, Franklin County, North Oldham, Spencer County

District 5 – East Jessamine, Marion County, Mercer County, Taylor County, West Jessamine

District 6 – Clay County, Knox Central, Rockcastle County, Russell County, Wayne County

District 7 – Bourbon County, Harrison County, Holmes, Mason County, Scott

District 8 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, East Carter, Greenup County, Johnson Central, Rowan County

Proposed Class 5A

District 1 – Apollo, Christian County, Graves County, Marshall County, Owensboro

District 2 – Barren County, Bowling Green, Grayson County, Greenwood

District 3 – Bullitt Central, Bullitt East, Nelson County, North Bullitt, Oldham County, South Oldham

District 4 – Atherton, Doss, Fairdale, Fern Creek, Iroquois, Southern

District 5 – Covington Catholic, Dixie Heights, Grant County, Highlands

District 6 – Anderson County, Madison Southern, Montgomery County, Shelby County, Woodford County

District 7 – Lincoln County, Pulaski County, South Laurel, Southwestern, Whitley County

District 8 – Harlan County, Letcher County Central, North Laurel, Perry County Central

Proposed Class 6A

District 1 – Daviess County, Henderson County, McCracken County, Muhlenberg County, Ohio County

District 2 – Central Hardin, Meade County, North Hardin

District 3 – Butler, DuPont Manual, Male, Pleasure Ridge Park, St. Xavier

District 4 – Ballard, Eastern, Jeffersontown, Seneca, Trinity (Louisville)

District 5 – Conner, Cooper, Ryle

District 6 – Boone County, Campbell County, Simon Kenton

District 7 – Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Scott County

District 8 – George Rogers Clark, Lafayette, Madison Central, Tates Creek

6A Pairings

5th place from District 1 as the 4th place in District 2 for playoff brackets.

5th place from 3 would become the 4th place in 5 for playoffs in odd numbered years

5th place from 3 would become the 4th place in 6 for playoffs in even numbered years.

5th place from 4 would become the 4th place in 6 for playoffs in odd numbered years

5th place from 4 would become the 4th place in 5 for playoffs in even numbered years.

Playoff pairings rotation would rotate between 3, 4, 5 and 6 for the first 3 years of the 4 year alignment period. Year 1 would have 3 and 4 paired, 5 and 6 paired. Year 2 would have 3 and 5 paired, 4 and 6 paired. Year 3 would have 3 and 6 paired, 4 and 5 paired. Board will determine in May, 2014 as to length of time for the rotation of pairings beyond the third year

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Prestonsburg Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com