Last updated: July 15. 2014 10:28AM - 140 Views

Betsy Clemons
Betsy Clemons
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PIKEVILLE – Three local professionals will soon receive top-flight economic development instruction thanks, in part, to economic development scholarships provided by Kentucky Power. The three chamber of commerce executives, from Floyd, Johnson and Perry Counties, will attend the Kentucky Institute for Economic Development in Lexington from Aug. 20-23. The Institute is offered through the University of Kentucky’s Gatton College of Business and Economics. The tuition for the Institute, $590 for each participant, will be covered through the Kentucky Power Scholarship.

“We are pleased to award these scholarships to our area chamber of commerce professionals. In many instances they are the touch points for economic development activities in their areas,” said Brad Hall, external affairs manager for Kentucky Power. “Through the scholarships, they will receive intensive training in basic economic development theory and practice. It will provide them the tools they need to compete aggressively in the economic development and retention arena,” he said. “They will also be provided with information that they can take back to their chambers — and communities — and share with other development professionals.”

Receiving the scholarships from Kentucky Power are:

• Fran Jarrell, executive director, Paintsville-Johnson County Chamber of Commerce

• Kathy Allen, executive director, Floyd County Chamber of Commerce

• Betsy Clemons, executive director, Hazard-Perry County Chamber of Commerce

“This is an accredited course through the International Economic Development Council, so it will be structured to provide the maximum benefit to its participants. The information, strategies, and development skills presented at the Institute will arm our local ED professionals with tools they need to market Eastern Kentucky to potential business developers,” said Greg Pauley, president and chief operating officer of Kentucky Power. “It is another step we are taking to enhance the overall economic development effort in our service territory and all of Eastern Kentucky,” he said. “Congratulations to each scholarship recipient.”

Kentucky Power is an operating unit of American Electric Power and provides electricity to approximately 171,000 customers in all or parts of 20 Eastern Kentucky counties. The company is headquartered in Frankfort and has major operating facilities in Ashland, Hazard, Louisa and Pikeville.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Prestonsburg Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com