Last updated: May 20. 2014 9:26PM - 11024 Views
By - (Unknown address)

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Ben Hale will be the new county judge-executive, but Hattie Owens and Warren Jarrell will not be returning to the fiscal court. Owens was unseated from her post by Randy Davis, while Jarrell lost his bid for a second term to Mike Tackett.

Magistrate Big John Goble survived a scare, pending an expected recanvass, while Ronnie Akers held off his only challenger by a 2-to-1 margin. Goble faces an independent challenge from Philip “Doc” Simpson in November.

Ashley Tackett Laferty came out on top in the circuit judge’s race, but will now face a head-to-head rematch against Tom Smith in November.

John Hunt easily held off Steve Little and Brandon Spencer to take the Democratic nomination for sheriff. He will now face Republican Joey Collins in November.

Stuart “Bear” Halbert narrowly defeated incumbent Cheyenne McKinney in the jailer’s race. That race will also get its final nod in November, when Halbert faces independent Dougie Hopkins.

Greg Nelson led all candidates on the ballot, falling just 8 votes shy of 10,000, as he defeated challenger Jordon Case by a 3-to-1 margin.

In constable races, Larry “Boss” Jarrell, Sam Duncan, Ernie Ray Moore and Allred “Junebug” Newsom were all winners.

In the U.S. Senate races, incumbent Republican Sen. Mitch McConnell and Democratic Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes were Floyd County’s top picks, and those results appear to be the same statewide.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Prestonsburg Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com