MSU sets school record for Medal of Honor recipients

By Steve LeMaster

July 26, 2013

MOREHEAD – A school-record 21 Morehead State University student-athletes earned an Ohio Valley Conference Academic Medal of Honor for 2012-13, while nearly 100 earned spots on the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

The Medal of Honor is given annually to student-athletes who achieve the highest grade point average in a conference-sponsored sport. All those honorees recorded 4.00 GPAs. The previous benchmark was 19 in 2011-12.

“I am very proud of the academic achievements of all our student-athletes,” Assistant Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Services and Senior Woman Administrator Sara Larson said. “The commitment they have in the classroom and on the field is tremendous, and it is nice to see them recognized for all of their hard work. Academics are a priority in the athletic department, not only for our administrative staff, but for our coaching staff and student-athletes as well.”

To be listed on the honor roll, recipients must achieve at least a 3.25 GPA and be eligible throughout the competitive season.

Medal of Honor Winners

Baseball – Kellen Begeman, Aaron Goe

Women’s Basketball – Mackenzie Arledge, Allie Turner

Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field – Lindsay Marcum, Natalie Norman, Taylor Lowe

Men’s Golf – Michael Fehrenbacher, Logan Hogge

Women’s Golf – Sofia Pettersson, Linnea Scholin

Soccer – Kimberly Borys, Karen Hilt, Elizabeth McSparin, Samantha Toepfer

Men’s Tennis – Ji Hoon Heo

Volleyball – Aryn Bohannon, Colbey Cameron, Laura McDermott, Leslie Schellhaas, Courtney Smith

Commissioner’s Honor Roll


Matt Anderson

Kellen Begeman

Jeff Birkofer

Bobby Burns

Cole Cleveland

Nick Duff

Aaron Goe

Trey Gross

Austin Haney

Dan Hyatt

Tyler Keele

Bobby Lewis

Chris Robinson

Taylor Sears

Brice Smallwood

Kane Sweeney

Men’s Basketball

Jason Holmes

Drew Kelly

Chad Posthumus

Women’s Basketball

Mackenzie Arledge

Paige Tackett

Allie Turner

Men’s Cross Country/Track and Field

Stuart Barnes

Evan Childers

Clay Dixon

Gary Monroe

Jesse Moreno

Chase Ratliff

Women’s Cross Country/Track and Field

Jasmyn Andrews

Kate Bomar

Kayla Burton

Taylor Lowe

Lindsay Marcum

Anya Martinez

Natalie Norman

Laurie Stoutenburgh

Parker Winters

Men’s Golf

Michael Fehrenbacher

Logan Hogge

Michael Pinsonneault

Women’s Golf

Anna Appert Lund

Marisa Kamelgarn

Sofia Pettersson

Krista Power

Katie Rice

Linnea Scholin


Demi Jacques

Taylor Johnson

Kathleen Mulligan

Mary Saenger

Emma Uchida

Hannah Wagner

Jumell Wilson


Kimberly Borys

Macy Cobb

Elizabeth Floyd

Caitlin Fox

Kimberly Golden

Kelsey Gomez

Ali Hawksford

Karen Hilt

Macy Kootz

Elizabeth McSparin

Alyssa Nacke

Hannah Seeman

Holly Tilley

Sam Toepfer

McKenzie Ward

Paige Weber


Adrena Anderson

Kara Arceneaux

Kayla Ashbrook

Jordan Boone

Stephanie Etter

Samantha Howard

Lizzy Margagliotti

Jamie Massaro

Kelcey McMurray

Kyle Nakama

Katie Raile

Amber Riddle

Greta Smeins

Elizabeth Wagner

Tressa Watson

Sam Woodall

Men’s Tennis

Hugo Almonte

Ji Hoon Heo

Nathan Martin

Women’s Tennis

Victoria Cran

Dominique-Chante Mclean

Lissa Pacheco-Brousseau


Aryn Bohannon

Colbey Cameron

Caitlin Clark

Annie Gruenschlaeger

Laura McDermott

Lindsey Roth

Leslie Schellhaas

Courtney Smith